The Energy Intensive User Group (EIUG) and its associated organisation, the Industry Task Team on Climate Change (ITTCC), have pleasure in announcing the office bearers for 2018, elected at the recent AGMs of the two bodies.

EIUG Chairman is Tsakani Mthombeni, with more than 10 years of experience, currently Group Head of Carbon and Energy at Gold Fields, tasked with setting the group’s energy and carbon management strategy and supporting its execution across the group’s gold mining operations in South Africa, Ghana, Australia and Peru. Tsakani has also worked at the Technology Innovation Agency, Anglo American, Eskom and Cape Town University.

His experience covers energy and carbon management strategies, sourcing and funding pre-commercial new energy technologies, developing standards for and supporting implementation of energy management initiatives.

He studied BSc (Electrical) at the University of Cape Town, followed by an MSc and PhD in electrical engineering at Clarkson University, New York, USA.  He has been a board member for Southern Africa Energy Efficiency Association, former deputy chair of the demand side management steering committee of the Southern African Power Pool and has served as an external examiner at the Universities of Pretoria and Stellenbosch.

EIUG has two Co-Deputy Chairmen:   Herman Pretorius and Seeralan Chinaboo.

Herman Pretorius is a Principal Specialist at Sasol. He is currently working in the Category Management team responsible for all Utility Energy planning, strategies and contracts for Sasol South Africa. He has 20 years’ experience in electrical engineering, co-generation, power generation, energy management, and energy efficiency, as well as on commercial interests such as electricity pricing and tariffs, power purchase agreements, NERSA licensing, contract negotiations, contract management and strategic planning.

Herman holds a Master’s degree in Electrical Engineering, with specialization in Energy Management. He is also a Certified Energy Manager by the Association for Energy Engineers (AEE) in the USA.

Seeralan Chinaboo is a heavy current electrical engineer in the role of Principal Electrical Engineer at Exxaro Resources.  He has 16 years’ experience working predominantly in the mining industry.  He has held various roles in project engineering, management, and maintenance, obtaining his Government Certificate of Competence (GCC) for both Mining and Factories.

Seeralan obtained his BSc Eng degree from the University of Natal and is registered with the Engineering Council of South Africa (ECSA) as a professional engineer (PrEng). He is also a Certified Energy Manager (CEM) with the Association of Energy Engineers (AEE, USA).

ITTCC Chairman is Sherman Indhul, an Executive Manager for Climate Change at Transnet. His experience over the past 15 years in the public and private sectors has led to a focus on sustainability, and specifically on climate change over the last six years.

Amongst his many areas of interest is understanding the interplay between business model transformation and climate change as well as the role of the fourth industrial revolution; and, in particular, artificial intelligence and how these interactions form transformational pathways under climate change.

He currently serves as a steering committee member of the National Climate Change Flagship Programme, the NBI advisory committee on environment and society, an advisory committee member of UNISA Department of Business Management and is a network member of the global think tank, SustainAbility.

Sherman has a BSc QS and MComm from the University of Natal, as well as being an accredited professional of the Green Building Council of SA.

ITTCC Deputy Chairman is Shailendra Rajkumar who is a Senior Policy Advisor at Sasol. Over the past 12 years he has worked in various parts of Sasol’s value chain including operations, international business, technology, business development, policy and strategic projects – predominantly focussed on the areas of environmental management, climate change and energy.  Shailendra advises on the Group’s strategic projects, top priorities and supports integrated strategy development initiatives while integrating with key stakeholders on various platforms locally and globally.

Shailendra currently serves on the Advisory Committee of the South African Centre for Carbon Capture and Storage and provides specialist input to a number of business and trade associations.

He holds a Bachelors Degree and Masters Degree in Chemical Engineering from the University of Kwazulu Natal in addition to a Post-graduate Diploma in Environmental Engineering from the University of Witwatersrand.